Before you actually pursue your passion of golf, it is important to know the rules. However, it is even more important to know the rules which are misunderstood. It is always better to clear this out in the beginner’s golf lessons to avoid confusion and pursue the sport smoothly. There are various golf lesson vouchers available for discounted golf programs.
Here are top 4 myths busted for your understanding:
- The player off the green must play his shot before the golfer on the green.
FACT: The golfer farthermost from the hole, is always supposed to play his shot first, regardless of his position. So if one player has 50-foot putt whereas the other faces a 5-yard chip, the player on the green is required to go first. There is absolutely no penalty if you play out of order. Nevertheless, in match play, you can be asked by your opponent to play your shot again if you do not wait for your turn.
- A ball touched and fallen off the tee after being addressed is counted as a stroke.
FACT: Usually, it does not count as a shot and the ball is supposed to be re-teed without any penalty. It only counts as a shot if the ball was already in play or if you were trying to make a shot when the ball fell off the tee.
- In scramble or different team format, you are allowed to stand close to or on an extension of your partner’s putt line while he performs a shot.
FACT: On your side, no one can intentionally stand close to or on an extension of the putt line while a stroke is being played. The keyword here is “Intentionally”. If someone unintentionally stands there on your side, there will not be any penalty
- You are allowed to hit a provisional ball if you hit the original ball into a water hazard, before looking to search for it.
FACT: If you are confident that your ball is in the water, you cannot play the provisional. The shot you play after is considered a ball in play (plus a penalty shot). However, if you think that it might be outside the water, you may hit the provisional. But, if it has been established that your ball was in the hazard, you must leave the provisional.